Statuses

Hello world!

In Class on September 5, 2011 by kobermey Tagged:

Hello everyone!

Welcome to my very first blog post! This blog will document my exciting journey into the world of Tangible User Interfaces.  For my class at Wellesley, I will be working with a team of my peers to design an exciting and new user interface.

So far, I’m confused.  I switched into the class a day later than everyone else, so I kind of missed the essential introduction to what TUIs are and how the class will work, but I’m sure some perusing of the course website will fill me in.

For my first homework assignment, I read and made a presentation on a research paper about token+constraint interfaces.  Tokens are physical representation of data and the restraints allow you to interact with the data.  I thought this idea was really innovative because the constraints tell the user what interaction is possible with the data, and therefore doesn’t overwhelm the user with too many options.  I’m a very big fan of simplicity.

Now, I’m about to start (and catch up) on all the reading I have assigned, as well as brainstorm ideas for my project.  Stay tuned for more cool updates and other fun stuff I find!

-The Tangible Kat

Leave a Reply

